Change in VAT

Effective January 1, 2021

We will be reversing the temporary VAT rate reduction as planned on January 1, 2021.

Effective January 1, 2021, we will reverse the temporary VAT rate reduction introduced as part of the German government's stimulus package for the period July 1 to December 31, 2020. 

Products and services subject to value added tax will revert to their previous tax rate of 19% or 7% for the reduced rate, as planned.

Info

Many of our products - such as individual letter mail items and parcels without additional services up to 10 kg - are exempt from VAT because they fall under the category of universal postal services*. Prices for these products therefore remain unaffected by the change in VAT.

More on products and prices:

Products with adjusted prices due to the VAT reduction - such as P.O. box, redirection and storage services, envelopes for "Plusbrief", Packsets, and certain parcel and Express items - will be listed with their new prices in all price lists and in the Deutsche Post online shop. The new prices apply effective January 1, 2021, from which time they can be viewed in the online versions of "Leistungen und Preise" (services and prices) on our websites.

Parcel prices (Germany)

Parcel prices (international)

Want to ship Paket or Päckchen parcels. Take advantage of convenient onlinefranking.

Sending parcels as a business customer. You'll find all information on domestic (Germany) and worldwide parcel service here.

Prices for ExpressEasy (Germany)

Prices for ExpressEasy (international)

Want to ship Express. Send items quickly and easily with onlinefranking.

Are you a DHL Express business customer. You'll find all information on domestic (Germany) and international Express service here.

Letter mail prices (Germany)

Letter mail prices (international)

Want to shop for Deutsche Post products conveniently online. Just visit Deutsche Post's online shop.

Calculate and buy your postage online using our Portoberater pricing tool.

What is changing for dialogue with existing customers? Click here for more information.

Changes relevant for engaging new customers can be found here.

Prices and information for your high-coverage advertising can be found here.

Frequently asked questions

General

Information is available on the German Federal Ministry of Finance website at bundesfinanzministerium.de.

Thank you for your feedback.

There is no difference between the two. 

Thank you for your feedback.

Effective January 1, 2021, the regular tax rate of 19% or 7% will be reinstated for products that are subject to VAT.

Thank you for your feedback.

The change in VAT will become effective directly on January 1, 2021.

Thank you for your feedback.

The VAT rate valid at time of delivery applies. If you receive the product after December 31, 2020, the regular VAT rate applies to the product you ordered (e.g. coins, special edition stamps) irrespective of time of payment.

Thank you for your feedback.

Most of our products for private customers sending parcels domestically and internationally are exempt from VAT. However, there will be a change in price for domestic and EU-wide DHL parcels over 10 kg and for all items booked with the additional services "Bulky items", "Cash on delivery" and "Roll-shaped items", since the entire product is subject to VAT when these services are added. The change in price will of course also apply to all current Packsets and Pluspäckchen.

Prices for DHL products (e.g. DHL Paket) and DHL services (e.g. Ident-Check, Cash on delivery) for customers with business customer contracts are listed as net prices. The VAT line on invoices will reflect the changed rate. 

The change in VAT applies to the following DHL Express products and services (available in selected retail outlets):

  • ExpressEasy National  
  • ExpressEasy International Zone 1-4 (EU)
  • Time-definite items as well as Saturday delivery and "Eigenhändig" (delivery to recipient only)

Most domestic mail products are exempt from VAT, but changes in price will apply, for example, to postings that fall under the scope of partial services or for certain services such as HIN + WEG. Some of the philately and numismatics product lines are also subject to VAT and therefore affected by the rate change.  

For international mail products the price of the "Cash on delivery" service will change due to the change in VAT rate. International products for business customers such as letters at kilogram rates, Dialogpost or Press International are listed as net prices. The VAT line on invoices will reflect the changed rate.

Promotional mailings to customers via Dialogpost will also see a change in price due to the change in VAT rate.

Thank you for your feedback.

Any products subject to VAT (product stamps, parcel labels etc.) that were bought before January 1, 2021, were priced at the VAT rate applicable at time of purchase (16%). These products remain valid even if they are first used after January 1, 2021. Tax-free products (stamps etc.) are unaffected by the change in VAT rate.

Thank you for your feedback.

The change in VAT applies to all domestic and international postal services subject to VAT. Letter mail items (individual letter mail), parcels for private customers up to 10 kg, and non-EU international items are VAT exempt, so the change in VAT applies primarily to private-customer parcels above 10 kg and various services such as "Bulky items", "Roll-shaped items" and "Cash on delivery". Invoicing for business customer products will be adjusted in line with domestic business customer products.

Thank you for your feedback.

Physical stamps (purchased individually or in "Sparset" discount packs) remain valid for their declared value regardless of price changes. 

Individual mail items are exempt from VAT, so the postage price remains the same.

Thank you for your feedback.

Parcel

Online "Sparset" coupons remain valid for their declared value regardless of price changes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Express

The change in VAT applies to the following retail outlet products and services from DHL Express:

  • ExpressEasy National  
  • ExpressEasy International Zone 1-4 (EU) 
  • Time-definite items as well as Saturday delivery and "Eigenhändig" (delivery to recipient only)

For DHL online franking, the change in VAT also applies for Express pick-up and international time-definite items; these services are available exclusively online.

For business customers, Express items are subject to VAT. The change in VAT will be applied in accordance with VAT law.

Accordingly, DHL Express will adjust the regular VAT rate from 16% to 19% for products and services subject to VAT. 

Thank you for your feedback.

Letter mail

Deutsche Post’s "Leistungen und Preise" (services and prices) directory is available at deutschepost.de/preise; here you will find information on prices for all products and services, including their VAT status.  

Most domestic mail products are exempt from VAT. Examples of mail products subject to VAT include postings that fall under the scope of taxable partial services or certain taxable services such as HIN + WEG. Some of the philately and numismatics product lines are also subject to VAT and therefore affected by the rate change.

Thank you for your feedback.

Stamps may not be used as postage on products and services that are subject to VAT; in this respect nothing changes.

Thank you for your feedback.

* Universal postal services are intended to cover the basic postal needs of the general public. The EU VAT Directive states that universal postal service products must be exempt from VAT, and this is reflected in Germany's Value-Added Tax Act (UStG).
A full list of all current prices can be found here

MEHRWERTSTEUERANPASSUNG

Änderung zum 1. Januar 2021

Wir heben die Mehrwertsteuer-Senkung wie geplant zum 1. Januar 2021 auf.

Zum 1. Januar 2021 werden wir die im Konjunkturpaket der Bundesregierung beschlossene und vom 1. Juli bis 31. Dezember 2020 befristete Senkung der Mehrwertsteuer wie geplant aufheben. 

Für die mehrwertsteuerpflichtigen Produkte und Services gilt dann wieder der Steuersatz von 19%, bzw. von 7% beim ermäßigten Steuersatz.

Info

Viele unserer Produkte wie z.B. Einzelbriefsendungen und Pakete ohne Zusatzservices bis 10 kg sind grundsätzlich von der Mehrwertsteuer befreit, da diese dem sogenannten Universaldienst* unterliegen. Die Preise dieser Produkte ändern sich daher durch die Steueranpassung nicht.

Hier geht’s zu den Produkten und Preisen:

Produkte, bei denen sich die Preise aufgrund der Mehrwertsteueranpassung ändern, wie z.B. das Postfach, der Nachsende- und Lagerservice, Umschläge für Plusbriefe, Packsets sowie bestimmte Paket- und Expresssendungen werden selbstverständlich in allen Preislisten sowie im Shop der Deutschen Post mit den neuen Preisen ausgewiesen. Die neuen Preise können Sie ab 1. Januar 2021 der ab dann gültigen Online-Version der Leistungen und Preise auf unseren Webseiten entnehmen.

Paketpreise in Deutschland

Paketpreise International

Sie möchten Pakete oder Päckchen versenden. Nutzen Sie bequem die Onlinefrankierung.

Sie versenden als Geschäftskunde Pakete. Dann finden Sie hier alle Informationen zum nationalen und weltweiten Paketversand. 

Preise ExpressEasy Deutschland

Preise ExpressEasy International

Sie möchten Express versenden. Nutzen Sie schnell und einfach die Onlinefrankierung.

Sie sind DHL Express Geschäftskunde. Dann finden Sie hier alle Informationen zum nationalen und internationalen Express-Versand.

Briefpreise in Deutschland

Briefpreise International

Posteinkäufe bequem online erledigen. Das bietet unser Shop der Deutschen Post.

Porto berechnen und online kaufen. Nutzen Sie unseren Portoberater.

Was ändert sich beim Bestandskundendialog? Weitere Infos hier.

Änderungen hinsichtlich Ihrer Neukundenansprache finden Sie hier.

Preise und Informationen für Ihre Reichweitenwerbung gibt es hier.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Allgemein

Es gibt keinen Unterschied. 

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Für die umsatzsteuerpflichtigen Produkte gilt ab dem 01.01.2021 wieder der reguläre Steuersatz von 19%, bzw. 7%.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Die Umstellung erfolgt pünktlich zum 01.01.2021.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Es gilt der zum Lieferzeitpunkt gültige Mehrwertsteuer-Satz. Bekommen Sie das Produkt nach dem 31.12.2020 gilt der reguläre Mehrwertsteuer-Satz für ihr bestelltes Produkt (z.B. Münzen, Sammlermarken) unabhängig von der gewählten Zahlungsart.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Im nationalen und internationalen Privatkundenpaketversand sind die meisten Produkte von der Mehrwertsteuer befreit. Für den deutschland- und EU-weiten Versand ergibt sich jedoch eine Preisanpassung bei DHL Paketen über 10kg und bei allen Sendungen mit den Services Sperrgut, Nachnahme und Rolle - denn bei der Zubuchung dieser Services wird das gesamte Produkt mehrwertsteuerpflichtig. Natürlich gilt die Preisanpassung auch für alle aktuellen Packsets und Pluspäckchen.

Die Preise für DHL Produkte (bspw. DHL Paket) und DHL Services (bspw. Ident Check, Nachnahme) für Geschäftskunden mit Vertrag werden als Nettopreise ausgewiesen. Im Rahmen der Rechnungsstellung wird der geänderte Umsatzsteuersatz berücksichtigt. 

Für DHL Express Filialsendungen, die in ausgewählten Filialen buchbar sind, greift die Mehrwertsteuer-Anpassung für folgende Produkte & Services:

  • ExpressEasy National  
  • ExpressEasy International Zone 1-4 (EU)
  • Zeitoptionen sowie die Services Samstagszustellung und Eigenhändig

Bei den nationalen Briefen sind die meisten Produkte von der Mehrwertsteuer befreit. Es ergibt sich aber z.B. eine Preisanpassung bei Einlieferungen im Rahmen von Teilleistungen, oder bei der Nutzung bestimmter Services (z.B. HIN + WEG). Auch Teile des philatelistischen und numismatischen Sortiments sind mehrwertsteuerpflichtig und somit von der Preisänderung betroffen.  

Bei internationalen Briefprodukten wird der Preis des Service Nachnahme aufgrund der Mehrwertsteuer-Änderung angepasst. Die internationalen Geschäftskundenprodukte wie Briefe zum Kilotarif, Dialogpost oder Presse international werden als Nettopreise ausgewiesen. Im Rahmen der Rechnungsstellung wird der geänderte Umsatzsteuersatz berücksichtigt.

Auch beim Versand von Werbung an Bestandskunden via Dialogpost ergibt sich durch die Mehrwertsteueranpassung eine entsprechende Preisänderung.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Vor dem 01.01.2021 erworbene umsatzsteuerpflichtige Produkte (Produktmarken, Paketmarken etc.) wurden mit dem beim Kauf geltenden Mehrwertsteuersatz von 16% bepreist. Sollten diese Produkte erst nach dem 01.01.2021 genutzt werden, behalten sie ihre Gültigkeit. Auf steuerfreie Produkte (Briefmarken, etc.) hat die Steuersatzänderung ohnehin keine Auswirkung.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Die Mehrwertsteueranpassung betrifft alle nationalen wie internationalen Postdienstleistungen, die der Umsatzsteuerpflicht unterliegen. Da der Versand von Briefen im Einzeltarif, Privatkunden Pakete bis 10 kg sowie Sendungen in das Non-EU Ausland nicht umsatzsteuerpflichtig sind, wirkt die Änderungen der Umsatzsteuer im Wesentlichen bei Privatkundenpaketen über 10 kg sowie der Nutzung verschiedener Services wie Sperrgut, Rolle und Nachnahme. Die Anpassungen bei der Abrechnung von Geschäftskundenprodukten erfolgt analog zu den nationalen Geschäftskundenprodukten.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Physische Marken (ob einzeln gekauft oder in Sparsets) behalten bei allen Preisänderungen Ihre Gültigkeit für die deklarierte Leistung. 

Einzelbriefsendungen sind von der Mehrwertsteuer (Umsatzsteuer) befreit, deshalb ändert sich nichts.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Paket

Online Sparset Coupons behalten bei allen Preisänderungen Ihre Gültigkeit für die deklarierte Leistung.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Express

Für Filialsendungen greift die Mehrwertsteuer-Änderung für folgende Produkte & Services:

  • ExpressEasy National  
  • ExpressEasy International Zone 1-4 (EU) 
  • eitoptionen sowie die Services Samstagszustellung und Eigenhändig

In der DHL Online Frankierung greift die Mehrwertsteuer-Anpassung zusätzlich für die Express-Abholung und die internationalen Zeitoptionen; diese Services werden ausschließlich online angeboten.

Bei Geschäftskunden sind Express-Sendungen grundsätzlich mehrwertsteuerpflichtig. Hier wird die Änderung der Mehrwertsteuer im Rahmen des Umsatzsteuerrechts umgesetzt.

Bei umsatzsteuerpflichtigen Leistungen setzt DHL Express daher die gesetzliche Anpassung des Regelsteuersatzes von 16% auf 19% um. 

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Brief

Auf deutschepost.de/preise sind alle Produkte und Services in den "Leistungen und Preise" der Deutschen Post mit und ohne Umsatzsteuerpflicht nachzulesen.  

Die meisten nationalen Briefprodukte sind von der Mehrwertsteuer befreit. Mehrwertsteuerpflichtig sind beispielsweise Einlieferungen im Rahmen von steuerpflichtigen Teilleistungen oder die Nutzung bestimmter steuerpflichtiger Services (z.B. HIN + WEG). Auch Teile des philatelistischen und numismatischen Sortiments sind mehrwertsteuerpflichtig und somit von der Preisänderung betroffen.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Briefmarken können nicht für die Frankierung mehrwertsteuerpflichtiger Services und Produkte verwendet werden; insofern ändert sich nichts.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

* Mit dem Universaldienst soll das Grundbedürfnis der Bevölkerung an Postdienstleistungen gedeckt werden. Produkte des postalischen Universaldienstes sind nach der EU-Mehrwertsteuersystemrichtlinie zwingend von der Mehrwertsteuer zu befreien. Entsprechend ist dies im Umsatzsteuergesetz so geregelt.
Eine Gesamtliste aller aktuellen Preise finden sie hier