Frequently Asked Questions

From 11.05.2022 onwards, rail transport can be booked in DHL online franking and in the Post & DHL app. Over the course of May, this shipping option is also planned for the Deutsche Post shop.

Thank you for your feedback.

The rail transport shipping option is available to book at no extra charge in DHL online franking, the Post & DHL app and in the Deutsche Post shop.

Thank you for your feedback.

For national private customers parcels and small packages (Päckchen) "M". A combination with transport insurance is possible, a pick-up can also be booked. Currently, no other shipping services can be combined.

Thank you for your feedback.

With online franking, rail transport can be added at no extra charge if the route between the sender and recipient postcode is served via the rail network used by Deutsche Post DHL. Thus, for short distances, a parcel cannot be transported by rail, but for long distances, such as from Munich to Hamburg, it is possible in many cases. Also, the departure or destination area must not be too far away from the stations of the available rail connections.

With online franking, the postcodes of the sender and recipient are used to check whether the shipment is suitable for our rail transport. Only then will the shipping option be displayed and the customer can decide to choose climate-friendly transport by rail. When franking in branch/parcel shop, it would mean that parts of the sender's and recipient's address would have to be recorded. This is currently not possible.

Thank you for your feedback.

A suitable shipping product must be selected.: rail transport can only be offered for national parcels and small packages (Päckchen) "M". A combination with transport insurance is possible, as is the booking of a pick-up. If other services are chosen, a combination with rail transport is not possible.

The transport route must be suitable for rail transport. With online franking, the postcodes of the sender and recipient are used to check whether the shipment is suitable for our rail transport. Only then will the shipping option be displayed and the customer can decide to choose climate-friendly transport by rail. For example, a parcel cannot be transported by rail for short distances, but on many longer routes, such as from Munich to Hamburg, it is possible in many cases, provided the route is also served by Deutsche Post DHL's rail network.

Thank you for your feedback.

Nothing. You can drop off items at all branches/parcel shops, Packstations or with the delivery agent. If you have also booked transport insurance, the existing restrictions apply (no delivery to Packstation, Paketbox).

If you drop off items in a postcode area that does not correspond to the sender's address, this area may not be suitable for rail transport. Your shipment will then be transported by conventional means and delivered to the recipient.

Thank you for your feedback.

Basically, our internal processes are designed to transport shipments by rail with booked rail transport.In certain cases, however, rail transport may not be possible:

  • If under-franking is detected when the item is handed in at the branch/parcel shop and a new shipping label therefore has to be generated, rail transport cannot be selected at the branch.
  • Redirection service: if the shipment is redirected, the route may not be suitable for rail transport. It will then be transported by conventional means and delivered to the recipient.
  • Return: if the item is returned, it may be transported back to the sender by conventional means.
  • If you drop off items in a postcode area that does not correspond to the sender's address, this area may not be suitable for rail transport. Your shipment will then be transported by conventional means and delivered to the recipient.In the event of short-term engineering works on the booked rail route, the transport may have to be transferred to the road.
  • Due to the introduction of a new, complex process in the parcel centres, it may happen in rare exceptional cases that a consignment with booked rail transport is transported by road.

Thank you for your feedback.

Tracking of your parcels with rail transport is of course possible. If the sender has booked rail transport, a train is displayed instead of the truck in the shipment tracking during the main transport section of the journey. You can then assume that the consignment was generally also transported by rail.

Thank you for your feedback.

All parcels not booked for rail transport will only go by rail if it does not delay the parcels' usual transit time.

With the new shipping option of rail transport, we are giving non-business customers the opportunity to actively control the transport for their shipment (if it is suitable) and thus actively reduce their carbon footprint. In return, the customer allows the shipment to be in transit for up to one day longer.

Thank you for your feedback.

A shipment with the rail transport service saves on average over 30% of CO2 emissions over its entire production route by using rail for the long journey between parcel centres, the so-called main run, compared to transport with a conventional truck. Transport by rail itself is completely climate-neutral, as we only use trains that are powered by 100% green electricity. As part of our comprehensive sustainability agenda, we are of course also planning to successively reduce the remaining COemissions.

Thank you for your feedback.

The unavoidable CO2 emissions generated during transport will continue to be offset with GoGreen through investments in climate protection projects. This makes the shipment climate neutral.

As the most sustainable postal and parcel service provider, we are constantly working to further reduce the CO2 emissions generated during transport. In addition to many measures and investments, e.g. in emission-free delivery (e.g. electric vehicles), transport by rail is also an important aspect. Currently, we already transport about 6% of all parcels by train. Our long-term plan is to transport 20% of Deutsche Post and DHL in Germany's parcel volume by rail. In addition to all our efforts to make parcel delivery as CO2-free as possible, non-business customers can also make a difference. With the shipping option of rail transport, we are giving customers the opportunity to actively control the transport for their shipment (if it is suitable) and thus actively reduce their carbon footprint by allowing their shipment to remain in transit for one day longer.

Thank you for your feedback.

We currently do not offer a comparable service for business customers. However, we are currently also developing solutions for business customers in which the customer's shipments can be produced with reduced CO2 emissions.Around 6% of all shipments are already transported by rail.

Thank you for your feedback.

Login nicht sichtbar?

Mit der folgenden Schaltfläche können Sie die Login-Anmeldemaske anzeigen und die sichere Anmeldung abschließen.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Ab dem 11.05.2022 ist der Bahntransport in der DHL Online Frankierung und in der Post & DHL App buchbar. Im Laufe des Mai ist diese Versandoption auch für den Shop der Deutschen Post geplant.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Die Versandoption Bahntransport ist ohne Aufpreis in der DHL Online Frankierung, der Post & DHL App und im Shop der Deutschen Post buchbar.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Für nationale Privatkunden Pakete und Päckchen M. Eine Kombination mit Transportversicherung ist möglich, auch eine Abholung kann gebucht werden. Zurzeit können keine weiteren Versandservices kombiniert werden.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Bei der Online Frankierung kann der Bahntransport ohne Aufpreis hinzugebucht werden, wenn die Strecke zwischen Absender und Empfänger PLZ über das von Deutsche Post DHL genutzte Schienennetz bedient wird. So kann ein Paket bei kurzen Entfernungen nicht per Bahn transportiert werden, bei langen Strecken wie beispielsweise von München nach Hamburg ist es jedoch in vielen Fällen möglich. Auch dürfen Abgangs- oder Zielgebiet nicht zu weit von den Bahnhöfen der verfügbaren Bahnverbindungen entfernt sein.

Bei der Online Frankierung wird anhand der Postleitzahlen von Absender und Empfänger geprüft, ob die Sendung für einen Bahntransport infrage kommt. Nur dann wird die Versandoption angezeigt und der Kunde kann sich für den klimafreundlichen Transport auf der Schiene entscheiden. Bei der Frankierung in Filiale/Paketshop würde es bedeuten, dass Teile der Absender- und Empfängeradresse aufgenommen werden müssen. Dies ist derzeit nicht möglich.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Es muss ein passendes Versandprodukt ausgewählt werden: Der Bahntransport kann nur für nationale Pakete und Päckchen M angeboten werden. Eine Kombination mit Transportversicherung ist möglich, ebenso die Buchung einer Abholung. Wenn andere Services gewählt werden, ist eine Kombination mit Bahntransport nicht möglich.

Die Transportstrecke muss für den Bahntransport geeignet sein. Bei der Online Frankierung wird anhand der Postleitzahlen von Absender und Empfänger geprüft, ob die Sendung für einen Bahntransport infrage kommt. Nur dann wird die Versandoption angezeigt und der Kunde kann sich für den klimafreundlichen Transport auf der Schiene entscheiden. So kann ein Paket bei kurzen Entfernungen nicht per Bahn transportiert werden, auf vielen längeren Strecken wie beispielsweise von München nach Hamburg ist es jedoch in vielen Fällen möglich, sofern die Strecke auch über das Schienennetz von Deutsche Post DHL bedient wird.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Nichts. Sie können die Sendungen in allen Filialen/Paketshops, Packstationen oder beim Zusteller abgeben. Sollten Sie zusätzlich eine Transportversicherung gebucht haben, gelten die hierfür bestehenden Einschränkungen (keine Abgabe an der Packstation, Paketbox).

Sollten Sie die Sendungen in einem PLZ Gebiet abgeben, das nicht der Absenderadresse entspricht, kann es vorkommen, dass dieses Gebiet nicht für den Bahntransport geeignet ist. Dann wird Ihre Sendung auf herkömmlichem Wege transportiert und beim Empfänger zugestellt.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Grundsätzlich sind unsere internen Prozesse darauf ausgelegt, Sendungen mit gebuchtem Bahntransport auf der Schiene zu transportieren.
In bestimmten Fällen wird der Bahntransport ggf. nicht realisiert:

  • Sollte bei der Abgabe in der Filiale/Paketshop eine Unterfrankierung festgestellt werden und daher eine neue Versandmarke erzeugt werden müssen, kann der Bahntransport in der Filiale nicht ausgewählt werden.
  • Nachsendeservice: Wird die Sendung nachgesendet, kann es sein, dass die Strecke sich nicht für den Bahntransport eignet. Dann wird sie auf herkömmlichem Wege transportiert und beim Empfänger zugestellt.
  • Rücksendung: Kommt es zu einer Rücksendung, wird die Sendung ggf. auf herkömmlichem Wege zurück zum Absender transportiert.
  • Sollten Sie die Sendungen in einem PLZ Gebiet abgeben, das nicht der Absenderadresse entspricht, kann es vorkommen, dass dieses Gebiet nicht für den Bahntransport geeignet ist. Dann wird Ihre Sendung auf herkömmlichem Wege transportiert und beim Empfänger zugestellt.
  • Bei kurzfristigen Baustellen auf der gebuchten Bahnstrecke muss der Transport ggf. auf die Straße verlegt werden.
  • Aufgrund der Einführung eines neuen, komplexen Prozesses in den Paketzentren kann es in seltenen Ausnahmefällen dazu kommen, dass eine Sendung mit gebuchtem Bahntransport auf der Straße transportiert wird.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Eine Sendungsverfolgung Ihrer Pakete mit Bahntransport ist selbstverständlich möglich. Wurde vom Versender der Bahntransport gebucht, wird in der Sendungsverfolgung während des Transports im Hauptlauf ein Zug statt dem LKW angezeigt. Sie können dann davon ausgehen, dass die Sendung i.d.R. auch auf der Bahn transportiert wurde.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Alle nicht für Bahntransport gebuchten Pakete gehen nur dann auf die Schiene, wenn es die gewohnte Laufzeit der Pakete nicht verzögert.

Mit der neuen Versandoption Bahntransport geben wir dem Privatkunden die Möglichkeit aktiv den Transport für genau seine Sendung (wenn sie geeignet ist) zu steuern und seinen CO2-Fußabdruck damit aktiv zu reduzieren. Der Kunde gestattet uns dafür, dass die Sendung bis zu einem Tag länger unterwegs sein darf.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Eine Sendung mit dem Service Bahntransport spart auf Ihrem gesamten Produktionsweg durch die Nutzung der Schiene für den langen Weg zwischen Paketzentren, dem so genannten Hauptlauf, im Durchschnitt über 30% der CO2 Emissionen gegenüber dem Transport mit einem herkömmlichen LKW. Der Transport auf der Schiene selbst ist dabei komplett klimaneutral, da wir ausschließlich Züge nutzen, die mit 100% Ökostrom betrieben werden. Im Rahmen unserer umfangreichen Nachhaltigkeits-Agenda planen wir natürlich auch die verbliebenen Emissionen sukzessive weiter zu reduzieren.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Die beim Transport entstehenden, nicht vermeidbaren CO2-Emissionen werden weiterhin mit GoGreen durch Investitionen in Klimaschutzprojekte kompensiert. Dadurch wird die Sendung klimaneutral.

Als nachhaltigster Post- und Paketdienstleister arbeiten wir permanent daran, die beim Transport entstehenden Emissionen weiter zu reduzieren. Neben vielen Maßnahmen und Investitionen z.B. in die emissionsfreie Zustellung (z.B. Elektrofahrzeuge) ist auch der Transport auf der Schiene ein wichtiger Aspekt. Aktuell befördern wir bereits ca. 6% aller Pakete per Zug, unser langfristiger Plan ist es, 20% der Paketmenge von Deutsche Post und DHL in Deutschland auf der Schiene zu transportieren. Neben all unseren Anstrengungen für eine möglichst CO2-freie Paketbeförderung kann auch der Privatkunde einen Unterschied machen. Mit der Versandoption Bahntransport geben wir dem Kunden die Möglichkeit aktiv den Transport für genau seine Sendung (wenn sie geeignet ist) zu steuern und seinen CO2-Fußabdruck damit zu reduzieren, dadurch kann die Sendung einen Tag länger unterwegs sein kann.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Für Geschäftskunden bieten wir aktuell kein vergleichbares Angebot an. Wir erarbeiten aber derzeit auch für Geschäftskunden Lösungen, bei denen die Sendungen des Kunden CO2 reduziert produziert werden können.
Bereits heute werden rund 6% aller Sendungen mit der Bahn transportiert.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback.

Login nicht sichtbar?

Mit der folgenden Schaltfläche können Sie die Login-Anmeldemaske anzeigen und die sichere Anmeldung abschließen.